Home Page

The Governing Body

As an academy the governing body, rather than Thurrock Council, are the controlling body of the school and responsible for the employment of staff. Governors meet at least twice a term when they consider reports presented by the school and make key decisions on school issues. Information on finance can be found on the finance page of this website and online at Companies House.  An annual general meeting is held in the autumn term when our accounts are presented. Following the latest guidance, apart from the chair, we have separated our trust members from the governing body itself but this meeting is attended by our trust members whose role is to hold the governing body to account.


Woodside Academy has 3 members and 8 trustees (including a Chair who is both a trust member and a trustee):

The trustees consist of:    

1 Chair of Governors (both member & trustee)

2 Parent Governors

2 Staff Governors 

1 Ex Officio Governor (Principal)

2 Community Governors


Current post holders are as follows:

Members                                             term of office ends 

Mr Justin Conroy (chair)                            29.09.24

Mr Russell Robinson                                 29.10.24

Dr Claudine Duberry                                  24.06.26




        Mr Justin Conroy (chair)                           29.09.24         

Parent Governors

Mrs Lorraine Clark (vice chair)                 29.10.24

Mrs Nicola Cranch                                    07.12.24

Staff Governors

Mrs Aimee Joiner                                      15.12.24

Mrs Julie Haydon                                      22.03.23


Mr Edward Caines                                  (ex officio)   

Community Governors

Cllr John Kent                                           26.05.24

Cllr Sara Muldowney                                30.11.25


Governors serve for four years after which they can be reappointed or re-elected. If the number of nominations is  not more than the number of vacancies nominees will be returned without election. The holder of the post of principal is automatically a governor. The trustees are the core group of governors who are responsible for certain financial issues and for appointing non-elected governors. 


Governors are not paid and bear considerable responsibility. As well as attending meetings, governors need to come into school to meet with staff, see the work of the school and to appoint senior staff. Considerable reading is required in advance of meetings and training sessions are provided to enable governors to fulfil an active role. Governors meet together at least six times a year, and incorporate the finance, audit and risk committees into these meetings.


Meetings are kept by our governance professional Ms Shelley Ashton who can be contacted via the school.


Woodside Academy is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee. The governors are also directors of the company and the academy finance assistant is the company secretary. The company number is 8272256  and the address of the registered office is: Woodside Academy, Grangewood Avenue, Grays RM16 2GJ.